Since the Teacher of the Year program began in 1968, Polk is proud to have thirteen teachers become finalists for Florida’s Teacher of the Year. Four of them won the title and one became a U.S. finalist.

Maude Graham Rosabelle W. Blake Academy 2021
Dr. Vincent M. Miller II Winter Haven Senior High 2020
Jennie Cyran Horizons Elementary 2019
Michelle Dinwiddle Lake Gibson Senior High 2018
Lois Horn-Diaz R. Bruce Wagner Elementary 2017
Jessica Solano Highlands Grove Elementary (State Winner) 2016
Adam Smith Frank E. Brigham Academy 2015
Christie Bassett Highlands Grove Elementary (State Winner) 2014
Virginia Watkins Purcell Elementary 2013
Linda Robinson Winter Haven High 2012
Linda Brett R. Bruce Wagner Elementary 2011
Wendi Wooddell Winter Haven High 2010
Ruth Teets Purcell Elementary 2009
Danny Whittenton Kathleen High (State Finalist) 2008
Kristen Wells Carlton Palmore Elementary 2007
Diane Plowden Winter Haven High 2006
Samuel Bennett Garner Elementary (State Winner, U.S. Finalist) 2005
Janice Gilchrest Griffin Elementary (State Finalist) 2004
Antionette Wilcox Union Academy 2003
Judy Moore Valleyview Elementary 2002
Dana Kelly Southwest Elementary 2001
Jennifer Cayer Southwest Elementary 2000
Lois DeRosa Southwest Elementary (State Finalist) 1999
Paula Leftwich Southwest Elementary (State Finalist) 1998
Odessa Johnson Polk Life & Learning 1997
Rosalind Michele Hill Highland City Elementary 1996
Rhea McKinney Lakeland Highlands Middle School 1995
Sandra Brooks Scott Lake Elementary 1994
Barbara Stephens Valleyview Elementary 1993
Linda Fasel Hillcrest Elementary 1992
Lonnie Smith Lake Gibson High 1991
Carolyn Williams Mulberry High 1990
Lynda Black Bartow High 1989
Janet Williams Winter Haven High (State Finalist) 1988
Ann Tankson Ridge Vo-Tech (State Finalist) 1987
Linda Guest Floral Avenue Elementary 1986
Elsie Durrance Lakeland Highlands Junior High 1985
John Carmichael Lakeland High 1984
Evelyn Laurent Bartow High 1983
Dorothy Perry Ridge Vo-Tech 1982
Beth Johnson Kathleen High (State Winner) 1981
Ed Vetter Kathleen High (State Finalist) 1980
Nell Thrift Lakeland High 1979
Bill Strouse Denison Junior High (State Finalist) 1978
Regena Berg Oscar Pope Elementary 1977
Hazel Miller Westwood Junior High 1976
Frank Satchel Jr. Mulberry High 1975
Ruth Wolfe Winter Haven High 1974
Evelyn Laurent Bartow High 1973
Richard Lewis Southwest Junior High 1972
Barbara Bishop Polk Avenue Elementary 1971
Robert Fisher Haines City High 1970
Thomas Bishop Lake Wales High 1969
Robert Fisher Haines City High 1969
Robert Fisher Haines City High (State Finalist) 1968