Presidential Scholar Finalists, Winners Announced for Polk County

Presidential Scholar Finalists, Winners Announced for Polk County

A photo of the U.S. Presidential Scholar finalists and winners from Polk County

At yesterday’s School Board meeting, we recognized our district’s finalists and winners for the U.S. Presidential Scholars program.

The U.S. Department of Education initiative honors high school seniors for their accomplishments in academics, the arts and career technical education fields. Each year, up to 161 students are named Presidential Scholars at the national level.

Congratulations to our district winners: Christopher Dawes from George Jenkins High, selected for his high academic record and exemplary performance on national exams; and Amy Widener from Lake Region High, selected for excellence in career technical education. We are proud to have them represent Polk County Public Schools at the state level.

Once again, kudos to all of our outstanding students named as finalists this year:

Bartow High: Jessica Rullo, Parrish Westmoreland
Bartow IB: Elizabeth Gonzalez, Madigan Landreth
Chain of Lakes Collegiate: Jessica Luongo, Joshua Meador
Fort Meade High: Sandra Matra Cruz, Brianna Rowell
Frostproof High: Allen Mendes, Tiffany Smeal
Harrison School for the Arts: Kim-Anh Vo, Erin Volpe
George Jenkins High: Christopher Dawes, Bailee Wilson
Lake Gibson High: Tanner Annable, Elaina Salerno
Lakeland High: Julia Norman, Kelly Schmaedeke
Lake Region High: Taylor Mims, Amy Widener
Tenoroc High: Jada Ellis, Matthew Mercer
Summerlin Academy: Craig Massey, Nicholas Nguyen
Winter Haven High: Halan Badilla, Haven Twyford