PCPS “Rising Star” Teachers Announced for 2020-21

PCPS “Rising Star” Teachers Announced for 2020-21

Delta Kappa Gamma Rose logo

Delta Kappa Gamma has announced this year’s list of “Rising Star” teachers from Polk County Public Schools.

DKG is an international society that promotes women educators. Every year, the local Lambda chapter names a list of Rising Stars, who are new “exemplary and promising” teachers (male or female) from PCPS schools, nominated by their principals.

The honorees are recognized during a ceremony and each awarded a $50 prize. Click here to see this year’s virtual ceremony.

Without further ado, congratulations to our Rising Stars for 2021:

  • Madalyn Alfonso, Spessard Holland Elementary
  • Joely Atchison, Caldwell Elementary
  • Abigail Babcock, Boswell Elementary
  • Jessica Bennett, Kingsford Elementary
  • Tabbitha Blain, Socrum Elementary
  • Tori Bowers, Lake Alfred Elementary
  • Megan Garfinkel, Ben Hill Griffin Jr. Elementary
  • Melanie Guinn, Dundee Elementary Academy
  • Haleigh Huff, Sandhill Elementary
  • Christina Hunt, Auburndale High
  • Lisethe Lugo, Palmetto Elementary
  • Ariel Mendez, R. Bruce Wagner Elementary
  • Brittany Raebig, Fort Meade Middle-Senior
  • Shelby Roberts, Purcell Elementary
  • Mariana Roth, Laurel Elementary
  • Cathy Scaniffe, Eastside Elementary
  • Kristin Sharpe, Garden Grove Elementary
  • Joseph Smith, Bartow Middle
  • Guerdie Telfort, Garner Elementary
  • Alexa Verburg, Combee Academy
  • Brooke Warner, Alta Vista Elementary
  • Roshelle Wellons, Chain of Lakes Elementary

Delta Kappa Gamma full logo