PCPS Announces Sunshine State Scholars for 2023

PCPS Announces Sunshine State Scholars for 2023

Sunshine State Scholars graphic

We are pleased to announce our Sunshine State Scholars for 2023!

Congratulations to Hannah Deese from Bartow High, Ali Jaber from International Baccalaureate at Bartow High, and Caitlynn Robertson from Lake Gibson High.

Every year, Florida’s school districts select their top high school juniors in the areas of science, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM) for the Sunshine State Scholars program.

“We’re proud to have Hannah, Ali and Caitlynn represent Polk County this year as our Sunshine State Scholars,” said Jeff Hancock, PCPS’ senior director of K-12 science. “These are exceptionally bright students with promising futures. This shows that being proficient in STEM can lead to exciting opportunities.”

Each student, along with their parents, will be invited to travel to Orlando in April to meet with other Sunshine State Scholars, connect with employers in STEM fields, and learn about their higher education options in Florida.

Photos of PCPS Sunshine State Scholars