PBIS Project Recognizes 44 Polk Schools With “Model” Status

PBIS Project Recognizes 44 Polk Schools With “Model” Status

Students at Padgett Elementary

The final count is in, and it’s official: PCPS had an outstanding year in 2020-21 when it comes to PBIS schools.

A record 44 PCPS schools earned Model School status last year from the Florida Positive Behavioral Interventions and Support (PBIS) Project. The PBIS initiative promotes good behavior, student success, and positive, safe environments through a multi-tiered system implemented by schools.

Model Schools are those that use PBIS practices at a high level and meet discipline goals, serving as examples for other PBIS schools. Instead of schools qualifying for levels of PBIS implementation (bronze, silver, and gold) as in previous years, all schools that participated and documented their efforts in 2020-21 were recognized with a Resilience award and Model designation.

“Despite COVID creating academic and social-emotional barriers for students and staff, we had a record-breaking year in Polk County,” said Dr. Lori Allen, a senior PCPS coordinator for discipline and PBIS. “This recognition is for the challenging and commendable work our schools did to keep instruction and learning moving.”

PCPS previously reported 12 model schools from our district for 2020-21, but the final tally ended up being much higher after pending applications were reviewed by PBIS officials. Congratulations once again to our model schools:

  • Elementary

Alta Vista Elementary, Carlton Palmore Elementary, Chain of Lakes Elementary, Citrus Ridge: A Civics Academy, Clarence Boswell Elementary, Cleveland Court Elementary, Combee Academy of Design and Engineering, Dr. N.E. Roberts Elementary, Dundee Elementary Academy, Edgar L. Padgett Elementary, Floral Avenue Elementary, Fred G. Garner Elementary, Griffin Elementary, Horizons Elementary, James E. Stephens Elementary, Jean O’Dell Learning Center, Jewett School of the Arts, Kathleen Elementary, Lewis Anna Woodbury Elementary, Lincoln Avenue Academy, Loughman Oaks Elementary, Medulla Elementary School, North Lakeland Elementary, Pinewood Elementary, Purcell Elementary, R. Bruce Wagner Elementary, Rochelle School of the Arts, Sandhill Elementary, Scott Lake Elementary, Socrum Elementary, Southwest Elementary, Spessard L. Holland Elementary, Wahenta Elementary, Walter Caldwell Elementary, Winston Academy of Engineering

  • Middle

Crystal Lake Middle, Kathleen Middle, Lake Gibson Middle, Lakeland Highlands Middle, Mulberry Middle, Shelley S. Boone Middle, Southwest Middle

  • High

Haines City Senior High School

UPDATE: James E. Stephens Elementary was added to the list of Model Schools after this story was published.

PBIS award graphic