Skip to content

New Principals Announced for 2019-20

New Principals Announced for 2019-20

Breaking news from Polk County Public Schools

Every year we see new faces in our schools, and that includes the principal’s office.

PCPS has announced the following new principals for 2019-20 (effective July 1):

  • Bartow IB: Brian Andrews, who previously served as principal of Lawton Chiles Middle Academy
  • Boone Middle: Brad Tarver, previously at Daniel Jenkins Academy
  • Daniel Jenkins Academy: Kathryn Blackburn, previously at Sleepy Hill Middle
  • Davenport School of the Arts: Cynthia Braaten, promoted from assistant principal at DSA
  • Doris A. Sanders Learning Center: Polly Bruno, the district’s senior ESE manager for middle schools
  • Garden Grove Elementary: Shauna Bergwall, former assistant principal at Lena Vista Elementary
  • Lakeland Highlands Middle: Edgar Santiago, previously at Palmetto Elementary
  • Lawton Chiles Middle Academy: Telay Kendrick, previously at Lakeland Highlands Middle
  • McLaughlin Middle: Debra Wright, former assistant principal at Westwood Middle
  • Palmetto Elementary: Jessica Short, promoted from assistant principal at Palmetto
  • Philip O’Brien Elementary: Charlie Huntley, former assistant principal at Oscar J. Pope Elementary