Celebrating Students’ Progress at the About-Face Awards

Celebrating Students’ Progress at the About-Face Awards

Superintendent Byrd at the About-Face Awards

Polk County Public Schools hosted the 25th annual About-Face Awards on Wednesday at the Bartow Civic Center.

The annual ceremony recognizes students from our middle and high schools who have made significant turnarounds in their grades, attendance or behavior. At this year’s event, we celebrated the progress of more than 50 students.

Click here to see a photo gallery from the About-Face Awards.

A special thanks to our keynote speaker, Lakeland Magic General Manager Anthony Parker. We’d also like to thank Tampa Electric Company, our longtime sponsor of the About-Face Awards.

Congratulations to all of this year’s honorees! They include:

Auburndale High School – Ciera Blanchard

Bartow High School – Diamond Sanders

Bartow Middle School – Keontay Smith

Berkley Accelerated Middle – Robert Osso

Citrus Ridge: A Civics Academy – Brandy Placide

Compass Middle Charter – Ryan Davis

Crystal Lake Middle School – Darian Gillins

Daniel Jenkins Academy – Yesenia Jaramillo

Davenport Community Campus – Billy Diaz

Davenport School of the Arts – Vhalhallah Covarrubias

Denison Middle – Shamario Edwards

Donald E. Woods Opportunity Center – Daniel Rojas

Dundee Ridge Middle Academy – Isaac Gonzalez

East Area Adult School – Emilio Benitez Delgado

Fort Meade Middle Senior (Middle School Level) – Alex Rivera

Fort Meade Middle Senior (High School Level) – Mahlia Sampson

Frostproof Middle Senior (Middle School Level) – Frank Perez

Frostproof Middle Senior (High School Level) – Kaliah McKinley

Gause Academy of Leadership (Middle School Level) – Fonzie Dunbar

Gause Academy of Leadership (High School Level) – Niekia Haynes

George Jenkins High – Ja’Kia W. Broderick

Haines City High School – Mindy Rayborn

Haines City IB – Julissa Colvano

Jean O’Dell Learning Center – Zachariah Davis

Jewett Middle Academy Magnet – Vincent Griffin

Kathleen High – Jazzlynn Velez

Kathleen Middle – De’Jon Charles Anthony Harris

Lake Alfred Polytech Academy – Gabrielle Hazlett

Lake Gibson High – Ke’Shawn Wimes

Lake Gibson Middle – Demerrick Davis

Lake Marion Creek Middle – Jasmine Cristina Soto

Lake Region High – Adrian Rodriguez

Lakeland High – Tabitha Collins

Lakeland Highlands Middle – Chase Greenhow

Lawton Chiles Middle Academy – Isaiah Brown

McKeel Academy of Technology – Karley Baird

McLaughlin Middle – Masen Gutierrez

Mulberry High – Alexis Carmack

Mulberry Middle – Logan Patrick Dry

Polk State Lakeland Gateway to College – Cornelia Kilgore

Polk Virtual Middle – Isaiah Byrd

Polk Virtual Senior – Jordan Duncan

Ridge Community – Carla Rodriguez

Ridge Technical College – Cody Holtzclaw

Rochelle School of the Arts – Alessandro Mejia

Roosevelt Academy – Glenn Harris

Rosabelle Blake Academy – Ayden Deloach

Shelly Boone Middle – Amber Donzey

Sleepy Hill Middle – Treyvion Price

Southwest Middle – Ana Domingo-Pascual

Summerlin Academy – Austin Warren

Tenoroc High – Montana Bozeman

Traviss Technical College – Kieren Young

Union Academy – Devyn Facey

West Area Adult School – Steven Foltz

Westwood Middle – Eduardo Reyes

Winter Haven High – Aaliyah Anderson