2020 Presidential Scholars Finalists and Winners Announced for Polk County

2020 Presidential Scholars Finalists and Winners Announced for Polk County

2020 Presidential Scholars group photo

At yesterday’s School Board meeting, we recognized our district’s finalists and winners for the 2020 U.S. Presidential Scholars program.

The U.S. Department of Education initiative honors high school seniors for their accomplishments in academics, the arts, and career and technical education (CTE) fields. Each year, up to 161 students are named Presidential Scholars at the national level. It is considered “one of the nation’s highest honors for high school students.”

Congratulations to our district winners: Owens Parker from Bartow IB, and Jared Caleb Thompson from Lake Gibson High. We are proud to have them represent Polk County Public Schools at the state level.

Once again, kudos to these outstanding Polk County students named as finalists this year:

Karol Aleman, Lakeland High (SAT/ACT scores)

Tea Bankhead, Tenoroc High (excellence in CTE)

Jason Bone, Fort Meade High (SAT/ACT scores)

Joshua Bowen, Harrison School for the Arts (excellence in CTE)

Daniel Cano, Tenoroc High (SAT/ACT scores)

Sophia Castrillon, Lake Gibson High (SAT/ACT scores)

Karma Clausen, Haines City High (excellence in CTE)

Madison Cliett, Discovery High (excellence in CTE)

Kassadie Cook, Lakeland High (SAT/ACT scores)

Christina Cunningham, Harrison School for the Arts (SAT/ACT scores)

Gary Gouty, Discovery High (SAT/ACT scores)

Tyler Grinstead, McKeel Academy (SAT/ACT scores)

Kelsey Gross, Winter Haven High (excellence in CTE)

Kylie Hollis, Kathleen High (SAT/ACT scores)

Micah Kirkham, Mulberry High (SAT/ACT scores)

Gavin Leopold, Mulberry High (excellence in CTE)

Jun Ling, Haines City IB (SAT/ACT scores)

Emma Massaro, Bartow IB (SAT/ACT scores)

Aria McDaniel, Haines City High (SAT/ACT scores)

Owens Parker, Bartow IB (SAT/ACT scores)

Adam Scharf, Lake Region High (excellence in CTE)

Olivia Schneider, Haines City IB (excellence in CTE)

Isabella Smith, McKeel Academy (SAT/ACT scores)

Olivia Smith, Auburndale High (SAT/ACT scores)

Sean Stoltz, Kathleen High (excellence in CTE)

Jared Thompson, Lake Gibson High (excellence in CTE)

Jacob Thomsen, Lake Region High (SAT/ACT scores)

Colby Todd, Auburndale High (SAT/ACT scores)

Thomas Townley, George Jenkins High (excellence in CTE)

Ariston Walker, Winter Haven High (SAT/ACT scores)

Jacqueline Zavala, Fort Meade High (excellence in CTE)


// //