Students to be Honored at Annual About-Face Awards on April 11th

Students to be Honored at Annual About-Face Awards on April 11th

default post image

Congratulations 2018 About-Face Award Recipients.

March 20, 2018

On Wednesday, April 11, 2018, the 24th annual About-Face Awards will recognize nearly 50 middle and high school student honorees who have made positive changes and noticeable improvements in their academic careers.

The invitation-only ceremony will begin at 7:30 a.m. at Bartow Civic Center, 2250 S. Floral Ave., Bartow. Members of the media are welcome to attend.

Polk County Public Schools hosts the event to encourage students who have made an “about-face” in their schools by improving their grade point average, attendance, or attitude. The honorees and their mentors will be served breakfast at the ceremony.

This year’s keynote speaker is Dr. Angela Falconetti, president of Polk State College. Dr. Falconetti became Polk State College’s fifth president in July 2017. A native Floridian with nearly two decades of service in three states, she has extensive experience in all aspects of higher education administration.

Other special guests include Tampa Electric Company Regional Manager Nick Plott, and Polk Education Foundation Executive Director Susan Copeland. Rachel Pleasant, Senior Director of Communications for Polk County Public Schools, will emcee the event.

The About-Face Awards have been proudly sponsored by Tampa Electric Company for 24 years.

This year’s honorees include:

Auburndale High
Tyler Justice

Bartow High
Christopher McAulay

Bartow Middle
Kadafi Barber

Berkley Accelerated Middle
Sanaa Maxwell

Citrus Ridge: A Civics Academy
Danielle Peterson

Compass Middle Charter
Lamar Sanders

Crystal Lake Middle
John Willis

Daniel Jenkins Academy of Technology
Von’Trell Dozier

Davenport Community Campus
Kortnee Johnson

Davenport School of the Arts
Isabella Ayala

Denison Middle
Bodhi Luker

Donald E. Woods Opportunity Center
Autumn Flatt

Dundee Ridge Middle Academy
Jacob Villegas

East Area Adult School
Stacia Williams

Fort Meade Middle-Senior
James Pullo (middle school division)
Jaywan Bush (high school division)

Gause Academy
Nicholas Santana (middle school division)
Victoria O’Steen (high school division)

George Jenkins High
Nicole Latessa

Haines City High
Evans Hilaire

Haines City IB
Nehemiah Charles

Jere L. Stambaugh Middle
Daniel Johnson Jr.

Jewett Middle Academy
Nick Simon

Jewett School of the Arts
Demetria Jordan

Kathleen High
Desiree Guerard

Kathleen Middle
Javien Sterling

Lake Alfred Polytech Academy
Sierra Flowers

Lake Gibson High
Morgan Gilbert

Lake Gibson Middle
Mateo Breiner

Lake Marion Creek Middle
Jamil Gonzalez

Lake Region High
Katelynn Smock

Lakeland Highlands Middle
Sean Munoz

Lakeland High
Harold Daniels

Lawton Chiles Middle Academy
Jabez McNair

McKeel Academy of Technology
Megan Teski

McLaughlin Middle School & Fine Arts Academy
Richard Faulk

Mulberry High
O’Kevian Fluker

Mulberry Middle
Terrell Pinkney

Polk State Lakeland Gateway to College Charter High
Deasia Nombre

Ridge Technical College
Sofia Oropeza

Rochelle School of the Arts
Cheyenne Lands

Roosevelt Academy
Dathan Richardson

Rosabelle W. Blake Academy
Dontavesya Dixon

Sleepy Hill Middle
Mike Escobar

Southwest Middle
Fabian Balado

Summerlin Academy
Ronni Moseley

Tenoroc High
Bianca Contreras

Traviss Technical College
Wendy Andablo

Union Academy
Jorry Donald

West Area Adult
Kaitlin Bailey

Westwood Middle
Destiny Rodriguez

Winter Haven High

Aliyah Olmo-Saez