TAKE DRIVER'S ED ONLINE FOR FREE

Driver's Ed Online Computer

Florida Virtual School (FLVS) and the Florida Safety Council have teamed up to take driver’s education to the next level! As a franchise of FLVS, Polk Virtual School also offers driver’s education to Polk County students. Now, Polk County students can enroll in both the online driver’s education course and behind-the-wheel training for FREE! Students can complete the course in 6-8 weeks, or can talk with their FLVS instructor about an accelerated 3-week option.

Need Help?

Drivers Education

Steps to receiving your learner's license

The five steps below will help you meet your learner's license requirements

Online Ed Icon

STEP ONE

Take the online driver's education course

  • Create an account and sign in at Florida Virtual
  • The minimum age requirement is 14.5 to register for the driver’s education course. It’s a semester-long course — 18 weeks — but the accelerated class can be completed in as little as three weeks. You will receive a grade and 0.5 elective credit (a passing grade will satisfy the online graduation requirement).
  • You will also earn the Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education (TLSAE) waiver (also known as DATA, DATE, or Drug and Alcohol Course), which is required to get your learner’s license.
  • Minimum age requirement of 14.5 years of age
  • Create an account or sign in at Florida Virtual
    Register for the driver’s education class
  • Semester-long course (18 weeks) or  an accelerated to be completed in as little as three weeks
  • Earn a grade and 0.5 elective credit (Satisfying the online graduation requirement.)
  • Receive the Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education Training (TLSAE) waiver (also known as DATA, DATE, or Drug and Alcohol Course) required to get learner’s license
  • Opportunity to take the learner’s license exam online with Driversed.com completely free of charge
Exam Icon

STEP TWO

Take the free online Florida learner's license exam

  • Study for your Learner’s License (General Knowledge Exam) by reviewing the Florida Driver Handbook, and make sure you’re prepared by taking a Practice General Knowledge Exam.
  • Drivers have the opportunity to take the permit exam online at Driversed.com completely free of charge.
  • Pass the online Learner’s License Exam (General Knowledge Exam). You must be under 18.
  • Once you have taken and passed the Learner’s License Exam, (General Knowledge Exam) print out your TLSAE course receipt to complete your online process.
  • Study for your General Knowledge Exam by reviewing the Florida Driver Handbook
  • Make sure you’re prepared by taking a Practice General Knowledge Exam
  • Take the online Learner’s License Exam (If you are 18 or over, you must take this test at the Polk County Tax Collector’s Office in person.)
ID Card Icon

STEP THREE

Complete the licensing process at the Polk County Tax Collector’s Office

  • Drivers must have completed Step 2, gather their identification documents needed, and gather the Fees required.
  • You are now ready to make an appointment at Polktaxes.com
  • Appointments are required for all Driver License issuing services so book ahead.

Note: Should you need to cancel or reschedule your appointment, this can be done online at Polktaxes.com

Car Icon

STEP FOUR

Take the behind-the-wheel training course

  • Complete six hours of behind-the-wheel (BTW) training at no additional cost with a certified driving instructor from Florida Safety Council. The Florida Safety Council will contact you after you complete the online driver’s education course. If you have not been contacted for your BTW training session, you may contact Florida Safety Council. (Must hold a Florida learner’s permit to be eligible for training.)
  • Find out more about the behind the wheel lessons.
  • Strongly recommended
  • 6 hours of free behind-the-wheel (BTW) training with a certified driving instructor from Florida Safety Council
  • You must hold a Florida learner’s license to be eligible for training.
  • Florida Safety Council will contact students after completion of the driver’s education course.
  • If you have not been contacted for your BTW training session, you may contact Florida Safety Council.
  • Find out more about the Behind the Wheel lessons
Teen Driver Challenge Icon

STEP FIVE

Take the Teen Driver Challenge

  • Training is provided by the Polk County Sheriff’s Office at no additional cost.
    • Student must be at least 15 and not older than 20.
    • Students must provide their own vehicle for the 2-day instruction.
    • Students must hold a Florida learner’s license or driver’s license.
  • Check the Polk County Sheriff’s Office website for available course dates.
  • Strongly recommended
  • Course is held by the Polk County Sheriff’s Office
  • Student must be at least 15 and not older than 20.
  • Student must hold a Florida learner’s license or driver’s license.
  • Students must provide their own vehicle.
  • Two-day training
  • Check the Polk County Sheriff’s Office website for available course dates
Curved Road Icon

Restrictions

On My Way

The following restrictions applies to learner’s license holders:

  • Practice driving with an accompanying licensed driver.
  • Accompanying driver must hold a valid driver license.
  • Accompanying driver must be at least 21 years of age.
  • Accompanying driver must occupy the closest seat to the right of the driver.
  • May operate a vehicle only during daylight hours.
  • After three months the holder of the learner’s license may operate a vehicle until 10:00 p.m.
  • Drivers with a Learner’s license are not allowed to operate motorcycles, mopeds, or go-peds.

Steps to receiving your driver's license

(Intermediate Class E License)

Reading Icon

STEP ONE

Prepare for the road test

Practice for the road test by mastering driver skills with a licensed driver.

Road tests are administered by appointment only at the following providers:

  • Road tests are administered by appointment only. Click on a link below for appointment options.
  • Prepare for the road test
  • Make an appointment for the road test at the Tax Collector’s Office
  • Practice driving with an accompanying licensed driver.
    • Accompanying driver must hold a valid driver license.
    • Accompanying driver must be at least 21 years of age.
    • Accompanying driver must occupy the closest seat to the right of the driver.
    • May operate a vehicle only during daylight hours; after three months the holder of the learner’s license may operate a vehicle until 10 p.m.
  • Drivers with a learner’s permit are not allowed to operate motorcycles, mopeds, or go-peds.
Road Test Icon

STEP TWO

Take your road test

Legal Scales Icon

STEP THREE

Complete the licensing process at the Tax Collector’s Office

Once you pass your road test, you are ready to complete your license application.

For more information, visit On My Way Polk, OMWPolk.com

ID Card Icon

STEP FOUR

Full Privilege License

Once you obtain a Class E Intermediate Driver License, your driving privileges are based on your age.

16 years old Driving is allowed between 6 a.m. and 11 p.m. without a licensed adult (all other times must be accompanied by a licensed driver at least 21 years old occupying the closest seat to the right of the driver, or be traveling to or from work).

17 years old Driving allowed between 5 a.m. and 1 a.m. without a licensed adult (all other times must be accompanied by a licensed driver at least 21 years old occupying the closest seat to the right of the driver, or be traveling to or from work).

18 years old Driving is allowed at all hours.

When a teen turns 18 and has passed the Class E Intermediate License requirements, restrictions are removed from their license. They then have full license privileges.

To review the graduated licensing program for teen drivers provided on the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles, website, including age related restrictions and privileges, CLICK HERE.

For more information on obtaining a learner's license or driver's license, visit OMW Polk.