About Face Awards LogoThe About-Face Award recognizes secondary students who have made a significant turnaround in their behavior, academic performance, and attendance in school. One student from each middle and high school in the district receives the award at the annual awards program. Students are nominated by their school and receive a medallion for their success.

This event is made possible through the sponsorship of TECO Energy.

2023 Student Honorees

Auburndale Senior High – Ja’Mauri Walker
Bartow Middle – Aden Stivers
Bartow Senior High – Tyler Anthony Rushen
Citrus Ridge: A Civics Academy – Olivia Korr
Crystal Lake Middle – Abrina Causey
Daniel Jenkins Academy of Technology – Deonte Fielder
Davenport High School – Omarion Dargon
Davenport School of the Arts – Xavier Pena
Discovery Academy – Adrian Berbera
Discovery High School – Nicholas A. Villanueva-Rico
Donald E. Woods Opportunity Center – Sandria Jarbo
Fort Meade Middle/Senior High (Middle School Level) – Skylar Savannah-Brook Gattie
Fort Meade Middle/Senior High (High School Level) – Isaiah King
Fresh Start Community School – Briana Abreu-Grieco
Frostproof Middle/Senior High – Wanya Clayton
George W. Jenkins Senior High – Antonio Judkins
Haines City Senior High – Rubielys Rivera
Haines City IB – Gian Wilfrid Valenciano Tana
Harrison School of the Arts – Paris Donaldson
Jewett Middle Academy Magnet – Sherman Clarke
Kathleen Middle – Braniyya McGary
Kathleen Senior High – K’maree Williams
Lake Gibson Senior High – Gracelyn Jackson
Lake Marion Creek Middle – Dantrayvious Swain
Lake Region High – Di’Markko Walker

Lakeland Highlands Middle – Dorys Farias
Lakeland Senior High – Jenesis Imari Guzman
Lawton Chiles Middle Academy – Calel Harris
McLaughlin Middle & Fine Arts Academy – Landon Poirier
Mulberry Middle – Isaac Cruz
Mulberry Senior High – Victor Serrato Hernandez
Polk GRAD Academy – Asad Amireh
Polk Virtual School (Middle School Level) – Samira Briggs
Polk Virtual School (High School Level) – Gabrielle O’Brien
Ridge Technical Academy – Alexandria Gonzales
Rochelle School Of The Arts – Edriell Rucker
Roosevelt Academy (Middle School Level) – Alekzander Nelson
Roosevelt Academy (High School Level) – Caleb Taylor
Rosabelle W. Blake Academy – D’Andra Crews
Shelley S. Boone Middle – Ashton Peek
Sleepy Hill Middle – Grisel Martinez Figueroa
Southwest Middle – Juniel Jair Rivera
Summerlin Academy – Ronnie Rodriguez
Tenoroc High – Amya Books
Traviss Technical College – Katya Gomez-Jimenez
Union Academy – Brantley Gunter
West Area Adult School – Anamarie Manahan
Westwood Middle – Janiyah Kendrick
Winter Haven Senior High – Gabrielle Lynn Hazlett

2022 About-Face Awards Program

2021 About-Face Awards Program

2020 About-Face Awards Program

2019 About-Face Awards Program